College of Arts and Sciences

Criminal Justice and Criminology

Department of Criminal Justice and Criminology
Graduate Students

Gassan Abess
ABD Doctoral Candidate
Fulbright Scholar – Sierra Leone
gassanabess1972@yahoo.com
Wilson Short Hall B11, WSU Pullman
Curriculum vitae
Research interests: policing, international security

Chyla Aguiar, M.A.
Ph.D. Student
chyla.aguiar@wsu.edu
Student Academic Center 403C, WSU Spokane
Curriculum vitae
Research interests: intergenerational patterns of incarceration; corrections, reentry and rehabilitation; program evaluation; quantitative research methods; juvenile justice

Brandon Bang
Teaching Assistant
bbang@wsu.edu
Johnson Tower 708, WSU Pullman

Lauren Block
Doctoral Candidate
Teaching Assistant
lblock@wsu.edu
Johnson Tower 724, WSU Pullman
Curriculum vitae

Francis Boateng
Doctoral Candidate
francis.boateng@wsu.edu
Wilson B11, WSU Pullman
Research interests: comparative policing, comparative criminal justice, public perceptions of police, police legitimacy, trust and confidence in the police, sexual assault, crime, justice and quantitative research

Michael F. Campagna, M.A.
Teaching Assistant
michael.campagna@email.wsu.edu
Johnson Tower 622, WSU Pullman
Curriculum vitae
Research interests: corrections; methods; theory; program evaluation; juvenile justice

Chris Campbell
Doctoral Candidate
Teaching Assistant
campbell27@wsu.edu
Johnson Tower 724, WSU Pullman
Curriculum vitae
Research interests: corrections; reentry initiatives; criminology; juvenile justice

Vikki A. Carpenter, M.S.
Doctoral Student
Teaching Assistant
vikki.mellenberger100@email.wsu.edu
Johnson Tower 723, WSU Pullman
Curriculum vitae
Research interests: juvenile delinquency and justice; life course trajectories; white collar crime, perceptions of criminals, crime and the key players in and outside of the criminal justice system.

Eliza Conlin
Graduate Student
elizaconlin@wsu.edu

Jason Dunbar
Ph.D. Student
jason.dunbar@email.wsu.edu
Research interests: community policing, corrections, hypermasculinity and crime, juvenile justice, criminological theory

Elizabeth Hattenburg
Teaching Assistant
elizabeth.a.walker@email.wsu.edu
Johnson Tower 710, WSU Pullman
Curriculum vitae
Research interests: corrections; quantitative methods; prison gangs

Heeuk Dennis Lee
Doctoral Candidate
Teaching Assistant
heeuk.lee@email.wsu.edu
Johnson Tower 710, WSU Pullman
Recent publications:
Melanie-Angela Neuilly, Kelly Stout, & Heeuk D. Lee (2014). "Violent Roots: Lethal Violence in Two Counties in Territorial and Early Statehood Washington." Journal of Interpersonal Violence, 29(3), 417-439.
Francis Boateng & Heeuk Lee. "Willingness by Women to Report Sexual Offenses to the Police in Ghana" submitted to Victims & Offenders (Accepted).
Full CV available upon request.

Ming-Li Hsieh
Doctoral Candidate
Research Assistant
lily.hsieh@wsu.edu
Johnson Tower 710, WSU Pullman
Curriculum vitae
Research interests: risk assessment, gender gap trends, crime control policies, comparative policing, and security management

Steve James
Research Assistant
stephen.james@wsu.edu
South Campus Facility 702, WSU Spokane

Alex Kigerl
Research Assistant
alex@kigerl.com
Wilson-Short B-11, WSU Pullman
Curriculum vitae
Research interests: cybercrime; corrections; personality theory

Michael Klein, M.A.
Teaching Assistant
michael.s.klein@wsu.edu
Johnson Tower, 708
Curriculum vitae
Research Interests: legal theory and court process, prison culture and operations, history of criminal justice, criminological theory

Wendy Koslicki
Teaching Assistant
w@koslicki.com
Johnson Tower 726
Curriculum vitae
Research Interests: comparative policing, trends in organized crime, history of American law enforcement, qualitative methods

Wes Maier
Teaching Assistant
wesley.maier@email.wsu.edu
Wilson-Short 27, WSU Pullman

Xiaohan Mei, B.A. in Law (China), M.S.
Ph.D. Student
Teaching Assistant
xiaohan.mei@email.wsu.edu
Wilson Ground Floor 27, WSU Pullman
Curriculum vitae
Research interests: criminal justice administration; psychology in criminal conduct and RNR model (in corrections); criminological theories; organizational culture; comparative studies in criminal justice and criminology

Wesley S. McCann
Conduct Officer (currently)
wmccann@wsu.edu
Curriculum vitae
Research Interests: international law, criminal law, criminal procedure, sociology of law, terrorism, constitutional law, military law and tribunals, habeas corpus rights, transnational policing, criminological theory

Amber Morczek, M.S.
Graduate Assistant, Violence Prevention Programs
amber.morczek@wsu.edu
G40 Washington Building, WSU Pullman
Curriculum vitae
Research interests: Corrections, prisoner reentry, violence and pornography, violence against women, primary prevention, and sex offending

Doug Routh
Teaching Assistant
drrouth@wsu.edu
Johnson Tower 722, WSU Pullman
Curriculum vitae
Research interests: law enforcement involvement with drug court; diversionary and correctional programming; program and policy evaluation; victimology; and quantitative methods

Roger Schaefer, M.S.
Teaching Assistant
roger_schaefer@wsu.edu
Johnson Tower 622, WSU Pullman
Curriculum vitae
Research interests: sex offender reentry; criminological theory; criminal justice ethics; race and crime; crime and popular culture

Elizabeth Thompson Tollefsbol, M.A.
Doctoral Student
e_thompson@wsu.edu
Student Academic Center 403C, WSU Spokane

John Turner, M.S.
Research Assistant
john.r.turner@email.wsu.edu
Wilson-Short B-11, WSU Pullman
Curriculum vitae
Research interests: correctional rehabilitation; addiction; theory

Andrea M. Walker
Doctoral Student
Teaching Assistant
andrea.walker@wsu.edu
Wilson-Short B-11, WSU Pullman
Research interests: criminal law and procedure, sex offender registration and reentry

Phil Woodford
Research Assistant
phillip.woodford@email.wsu.edu
Academic Center 403C, WSU Spokane

Jihye Yoo
Ph.D. Student
jihye.u@gmail.com
Johnson Tower 704, WSU Pullman
Research interests: quantitative research methods, spatial analysis and crime map, immigrant women and crime, juvenile justice

 

Heading

 

Department of Criminal Justice and Criminology, PO Box 644872, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-4872, 509-335-8611, Contact Us