College of Arts and Sciences

Department of Anthropology

Graduate Students

Students alphabetical by last name: A-I, J-R, S-Z

Anna Jordan
Cultural Anthropology
Advisor: Jeannette Mageo
anna.jordan@wsu.edu

Roxanna King
Cultural Anthropology
Advisor: Barry Hewlett
rswsuv@gmail.com

Courtney Malcom
Evolutionary Anthropology
Advisor: Courtney Meehan
cmalcom@wsu.edu

Matthew Marino
Archaeology
Advisor: Colin Grier
matthew.h.marino@email.wsu.edu

I am a masters student working with Colin Grier in Southwestern British Columbia. I am interested in human and animal relationships on the Northwest Coast and I maintain interests in monumentality and color symbolism in the Southeast, where I worked previously. My masters work is aimed at characterizing dog remains recovered from a midden context on Galiano Island (DgRv-006) in B.C.

Jessica McCauley
Cultural Anthropology
Advisor: Julia Cassaniti
jessica.mccauley@wsu.edu

Jack McNassar
Cultural Anthropology
Advisor: Nancy McKee
jmcnassar@wsu.edu

Juliet McGraw
Archaeology
Advisor: Colin Grier and Steve Weber
jamos@wsu.edu

Alissa Miller
Evolutionary Anthropology
Advisor: Rob Quinlan
amiller@wsu.edu

Lyle Nakonechny
Archaeology
Advisor: Bob Ackerman
lnakonechny@wsu.edu

Buzz (William) Nanavati
Archaeology
Advisor: Melissa Goodman-Elgar
buzz.nanavati@wsu.edu

Matthew Newsom
Cultural Anthropology
Advisor: Jeannette Mageo
matthew.newsom@wsu.edu

I'm interested in psychological anthropology; my research areas are subculture, gender, transnational music, parenting models, identity, and motivation. Specifically, my dissertation topic is an analysis of parenting models among psychobilly music fans in Berlin, Germany.

Caitlyn Placek
Evolutionary Anthropology
Advisor: Ed Hagen
caitlyn_placek@wsu.edu

Kelsey Reese
Archaeology
Advisor: Tim Kohler
kelsey.reese@wsu.edu

Adam Rorabaugh
Archaeology
Advisor: Colin Grier
adam_rorabaugh@wsu.edu

Casey Roulette
Evolutionary Anthropology
Advisor: Ed Hagen
casey.roulette@email.wsu.edu

My research investigates biological and cultural factors involved in the use of psychoactive plant compounds among Congo Basin hunter-gatherers. Specifically, my research explores four areas of substance use: The first explores the emic reasons for using tobacco and similar substances among Aka forest foragers of the Congo Basin. The second explores age and sex differences in substance use utilizing an approach developed by my advisor and I that emphasize drug toxicity. Third, my research explores the transition from childhood--when virtually no children use psychoactive substances--to adolescence--when most begin experimenting with drugs and when the potential benefits of ingesting psychoactive substances begins to outweigh the costs. The final approach, and one we have explored the most, explores the therapeutic and prophylactic effects of psychoactive substances on helminth (i.e. parasitic worms) infection, which might be an evolutionary benefit to the consumption of psychoactive plant secondary compounds.

Jennifer Roulette
Cultural Anthropology
Advisor: Courtney Meehan
jennifer.roulette@email.wsu.edu

 

Main Office Contact Info:

 
Department of Anthropology

College Hall 150
PO Box 644910
Pullman, WA 99164-4910
Phone: 509.335.3441
FAX: 509.335.3999

 

 

 

Heading using the h3tag

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum.

Department of Anthropology, PO Box 644910, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-4910, 509-335-3441, Contact Us