College of Arts and Sciences

Department of Anthropology

Graduate Students

Students alphabetical by last name: A-I, J-R, S-Z

 

Jacob Adams
Archaeology
Advisor: Bill Andrefsky
jsadams@wsu.edu

I am currently an archaeology Ph.D. student working with Dr. Andrefsky. My research interests include hunter-gatherer adaptations, lithic technology and the prehistory of Alaska. I have worked on field projects in Yellowstone National Park, Montana and Alaska. My dissertation work involves examining toolkit variability of late Pleistocene/early Holocene hunter-gatherers in Eastern Beringia, with an emphasis on experimental archaeology. In my free time I enjoy ice climbing, mountaineering, fly fishing, travel, and of course long walks on the beach.

Rachel Anady
Masters International
Advisor: Marsha Quinlan
rachel.anady@wsu.edu

Melissa Artstein-McNassar
Cultural Anthropology
Advisor: Nancy McKee
melsarts87@wsu.edu

I am currently a PhD candidate with interests in sociocultural environments of health and disease among particularly sensitive populations. I have worked with Nicaraguan migrants in Costa Rica, as well as migrants, domestic violence survivors, inmates, drug users and foster youth in the United States. My dissertation research focuses on the development of cultural models to understand healthcare behaviors of minority men and women living with HIV/AIDS in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Awoke Amzaye Assoma
Cultural Anthropology

Advisor: Barry Hewlett
awoke.assoma@wsu.edu

Nichole Bettencourt
Archaeology
Advisor: Melissa Goodman-Elgar
nicholebettencourt@gmail.com

Nichole is a Ph.D. student working with Dr. Melissa Goodman-Elgar. She uses geoarchaeological methods to analyze earthen architecture in the Andes and is working with Jerry Moore in northernmost coastal Peru for her doctoral degree. She is concentrating on the relationship between changes in the technology of earthen architecture construction and social organization. She will apply the sediment analyses developed in her MA to characterize the sedimentological traces of architectural phases.

Research topics include: Andean archaeology, landscape archaeology, spatial distribution and settlement patterns, and ancient architecture and construction practices.

Kyle Bocinsky
Archaeology
Advisor: Tim Kohler
bocinsky@wsu.edu

Cheri Boisvert
Cultural Anthropology
Advisor: Jeannette Mageo
cheri.boisvert@wsu.edu

Scott Calvert
Cultural Anthropology
Advisor: Barry Hewlett
scott.calvert@wsu.edu

Judith Card
Cultural Anthropology
Advisor: Nancy McKee
judith.card@email.wsu.edu

I'm a cultural anthropologist with an interest in all things kinship. I focus particularly on how humans construct kinship in the absence of either consanguineal ("blood") or affinal (by marriage or in-laws) ties. I have also conducted research with conservative religious groups in Southern California and the Palouse. My other interests are in gender, inequalities, feminist anthropology, and queer lives and communities.

Molly Carney
Archaeology
Advisor: Melissa Goodman-Elgar
molly.carney@email.wsu.edu

 

Caitlynn Carr
Cultural Anthropology
Advisor: Robert Quinlan
caitlynn.carr@email.wsu.edu

I am an M.A. /Ph.D. Cultural Anthropology student focusing on Medical Anthropology. My areas of concentration are: Latin America, mental health, the family unit, cross-cultural psychiatry, and religion. I am specifically interested in examining well-being among women in rural Guatemala, with an emphasis on domestic violence, depression, machismo, and household gender relations.

Emily Casillas
Cultural Anthropology
Advisor: Jeannette Mageo
emily.casillas@wsu.edu

Mark Caudell
Evolutionary Anthropology
Advisor: Rob Quinlan
mcaudell@wsu.edu

Jason Chung
Cultural Anthropology
Advisor: Julia Cassaniti
jason.chung@wsu.edu

Jesse Clark
Archaeology
Advisor: Colin Grier
jesse.clark@email.wsu.edu

Sarah Council
Cultural Anthropology
Advisor: Marsha Quinlan
skcouncil@wsu.edu

Stefani Crabtree
Archaeology
Advisor: Tim Kohler
stefani.crabtree@wsu.edu

Stefani is a dual PhD student at Washington State University and the Université de Franche-Comté in Besançon, France. She is interested in how complexity science can help us understand the archaeological past, specifically using agent-based modeling and network theory in her research. Her background is in archaeology and cultural anthropology. Her advisor is Tim Kohler and she works on the Village Ecodynamics Project trying to understand how the exchange of food for households could have led to aggregation, and how the competition for key resources could have led to violence and warfare during times of low environmental productivity. In France Stefani works with the TransMonDyn project in the transition from the Bronze Age to the Iron Age in the Languedoc area, examining how three distinct cultures engaged in exchange; her advisors there are François Favory and Laure Nuninger. Stefani also works with the Targan Nuur Archaeology Project looking at Bronze Age settlement patterns and completing ethnoarchaeological interviews in northern Mongolia. Stefani is a contributor to the simulating complexity blog (http://simulatingcomplexity.wordpress.com/us/), is an NSF graduate research fellow and a Chateaubriand fellow. In her spare time she can be found teaching yoga, enjoying the hiking trails in Pullman, eating good food, and occasionally playing live music at one of the coffee shops. Follow her on twitter @StefaniCrabtree

Francisco de la Torre
Cultural Anthropology
Advisor: Nancy McKee
francisco.delatorre@wsu.edu

Rodrigo de los Santos Alamilla
Evolutionary Anthropology
Advisor: Brian Kemp
r.delossantosalamil@wsu.edu

Samuel Dira
Cultural Anthropology
Advisor: Barry Hewlett
samuel.dira@wsu.edu

Patrick (James) Dolan
Archaeology
Advisor: Colin Grier
james.dolan@email.wsu.edu

Kevin Feeney
Cultural Anthropology
Advisor: Marsha Quinlan
kevin.feeney@wsu.edu

Philip Fisher
Archaeology
Advisor: Bill Andrefsky
prfisher@wsu.edu

Katherine Flores
Cultural Anthropology
Advisor: Marsha Quinlan
katherine.e.flores@email.wsu.edu

Louis Fortin
Archaeology
Advisor: Bill Andrefsky
lfortin@wsu.edu

Tiffany Fulkerson
Archaeology
Advisor: Shannon Tushingham and Steve Weber
tiffany.fulkerson@wsu.edu

Tiffany Fulkerson is a PhD student who specializes in the relationship between prehistoric peoples and plants in the Pacific Northwest by taking a multi-proxy approach that includes pollen, phytolith, starch, and macrofloral analyses. Her co-advisors are Steve Weber and Shannon Tushingham and she works with Loren Davis from Oregon State University for her dissertation. Tiffany's dissertation research focuses on the paleoethnobotany of the Cooper's Ferry site (10IH73) and the Western Stemmed Tradition. Her research interests include Paleoindian and Early Archaic/Paleoarchaic peoples of the Late Pleistocene and Early Holocene, human responses to climatic and environmental change, Plateau prehistory, and paleoenvironmental reconstruction. Tiffany has recently assumed the role of lab manager of the WSU Archaeobotany Laboratory under the direction of Jade d'Alpoim Guedes and is currently the president of the Anthropology Graduate Organization at WSU. She has a background in cultural resource management and public archaeology, having worked for various university, government, and private organizations. In her free time she can be found traversing the wilderness and playing with her cat Riff Raff.

Melissa Garfield
Evolutionary Anthropology
Advisor: Ed Hagen
mjoycegarfield@gmail.com

Zach Garfield
Evolutionary Anthropology
Advisor: Ed Hagen
zhgarfield@gmail.com

Rigden Glaab
Archaeology
Advisor: Andrew Duff
rigden13@hotmail.com

Haley Gross
Evolutionary Anthropology
Advisor: Luke Premo
haley.gross@email.wsu.edu

Katie Grundtisch
Archaeology
Advisor: Tim Kohler
katie.grundtisch@email.wsu.edu

Whittaker Harpel-McGraw
Cultural Anthropology
Advisor: Clare Wilkinson-Weber
whittaker.harpel@email.wsu.edu

Kathryn Harris
Archaeology
Advisor: Bill Andrefsky
kaharris@wsu.edu

Kathryn is a Ph.D. student in Archaeology under the advisement of William Andrefsky, Jr. She is interested in lithic technological organization, human behavioral ecology, and the conditions under which people change social organization and subsistence. She has worked in Idaho, Utah, Montana, Wyoming and Colorado; her dissertation research is examining the contexts for warfare on the Columbia Plateau. Most recently, she has become involved in a research project that explores the archaeological evidence for the foraging to pastoralism transition in northern Mongolia.

Sean Hawks
Cultural Anthropology
Advisor: Courtney Meehan
shawks@wsu.edu

Paige Hawthorne
Archaeology
Advisor: Colin Grier
paige.hawthorne@email.wsu.edu

I am currently an archaeology M.A. student working with Dr. Colin Grier. My research interests include studying the prehistoric cultures of Southwest British Columbia, the Pacific Northwest and in East Asia with focuses on stable isotope ecology, zooarchaeology, complex hunter-gatherer organization, ecological niche modeling and other forms of archaeological science. I am also interested in public archaeology and heritage outreach to local communities.

Courtney Helfrecht
Evolutionary Anthropology
Advisor: Courtney Meehan
chelfrecht@wsu.edu

I am a Ph.D. student in Evolutionary Anthropology. My research centers on the sociocultural and biological components of middle childhood within the framework of human life history theory. Specifically, I examine how early childhood experience affects the onset and duration of middle childhood (as evidenced by both cultural age categories and biomarkers) among the Aka forest foragers and the Ngandu horticulturalists of the Central African Republic. I am additionally investigating hair hormone analysis as a method for assessing biological development.

Justin Hopt
Archaeology
Advisor: Colin Grier
justin.hopt@email.wsu.edu

 

Main Office Contact Info:

 
Department of Anthropology

College Hall 150
PO Box 644910
Pullman, WA 99164-4910
Phone: 509.335.3441
FAX: 509.335.3999

 

 

 

Heading using the h3tag

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum.

Department of Anthropology, PO Box 644910, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-4910, 509-335-3441, Contact Us